top of page
  • Writer's pictureGlobal TB Caucus

Parliamentarians in Nigeria agree on a statement of commitment to end TB

Updated: Dec 28, 2020

Abuja, 3rd of December 2020: During a Legislative forum organised by Stop TB Partnership Nigeria in collaboration with the National TB and Leprosy Control Programme of the Federal Ministry of Health and Nigeria Parliamentary TB Caucus, over 20 parliamentarians of the AIDs Tuberculosis and Malaria Control Committee, agreed on a statement of commitment to end TB in Nigeria.

The statement was signed by Honorable Abubakar Sarki Dahiru, Chairman of the AIDS Tuberculosis and Malaria Control Committee on behalf of the members of the National Caucus and Dr. Ayodele Awe the Acting Board Chair on behalf of the Stop TB Partnership Nigeria.

The forum was aimed at increasing political commitment towards adequate domestic resources and appropriate policies to end TB in Nigeria. During the meeting parliamentarians received detailed information from the National Coordinator of the TB and Leprosy Control Program Dr. Adebola Lawanson on the TB situation in Nigeria, the impact of COVID-19 on TB, the progresses being made towards the achievement of the UNHLM targets, the government funds allocated and released for TB in the last 4 years and the increasing funding gap for TB in Nigeria.

In recognition of the facts presented by the TB program and stakeholders, members of the national caucus amongst other things committed to facilitate the achievement of the provisions of the Nigerian Strategic Plan of ensuring that TB efforts in Nigeria are properly financed, pass appropriate health legislations and legal frameworks for improved TB control including case detection, notification and treatment as well as laws that protect the rights of people affected by TB. Parliamentarians also committed to promote accountability through the establishment of mechanisms to monitor progress of TB control in Nigeria.

The meeting which was moderated by Mayowa Joel, The executive secretary of the Stop TB Partnership Nigeria had the following main speakers: Honorable Abubakar Dahiru Sarki, Chairman of the ATM Committee/Nigeria TB caucus, Honorable Dr. Tanko Yusuf Sununu, Chairman, Committee on Healthcare Services, RT. Honorable David Emmanuel Ombugadu, Former Chairman of ATM committee/Nigeria TB caucus now member of the Global TB Caucus Fellows Network, Dr.Ayodele Awe, Acting board chair of Stop TB Partnership Nigeria, Dr. Temitayo Odusote TB team lead USAID, Nigeria, Dr. Adebola Lawanson, National Coordinator of the National TB and Leprosy control program,Deborah Ogwuche, Francophone/ Nigeria regional Manager, Global TB Caucus.

With the information and technical resources gathered from the meeting, there is a revamped approach in advocacy for better policies and adequate funding for TB especially through budgetary allocation as well TB awareness among the political elites in Nigeria.


bottom of page